Project Developments

‘Back to Betws’

My Father an i have been speaking recently and have developed our idea for the project. I have been informing him as much as possible that he needs to think of himself as the Author of this Story and this Project and me as the Producer. I want him to feel empowered so i am making sure that we are constantly talking of ideas and making plans for when we will make the Journey.

The plan so far is to head back to betws-y-coed where these selections of photographs were taken 17 years ago, 2 days before my Dads brain Haemorrhage. The Photographs from Kenilworth were taken 1 day before my Dads Brain Haemorrhage.

Now i have already produced a short piece of narrative based around this series of photographs and i did tis during the phonar module:

https://seancarroll89.wordpress.com/2012/11/06/phonar-transformative-storytelling-task/

In this post and in the video i produced it was my narrative and my story of this day. I now want to re visit this ‘sketch’ i made and think about how i can make this a whole lot better. I do like the way that i narrated and almost made a poem to read from in this video but i dont think this should be about my story, i think this needs to be my Dad telling it, talking about his ideas and his experiences of the Photographs and the memory they bring. This is a development on trying to get my Dad to think about me Producing his story, giving him the means to tell it. Now i also hope that this Journey back which we will make will also be therapeutic for my Dad maybe even for me. It is almost a way of facing up to those demons or going back to that place where there was such a happiness before something that changed our lives happened. I hope it might almost be a way of letting go and help my Dad think more optimistically. I am really interested in the way in which Photography can do this. How the Photographs of these locations have made these places seem so Important. The Photographs have fixed these memories in an artefact and have almost become the memory. I think the idea of time and that it is 17 years since we have been back is also a factor which has given these places such an awe of mystery about them. it is almost going to be a confrontation of the past and which has been made possible by a set of Photographic Artefacts.

 

Here is a piece of writing i have produced to explain the project for Press release as an example.

On Thursday 25th and Friday 26th July 1996 a selection of photographs were taken of my Sister and I as we went on two consecutive day trips with my Dad.

These Photographs have become a milestone in our lives and 17 years on, I have made a journey with my father back to Betws-y-Coed to revisit and rediscover the locations where these photographs were taken.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

